Cause for Applause

The College of Urgent Care Medicine’s Cause for Applause is a quarterly program that recognizes the great work our members are doing in the field.

CUCM members may send their nominations to Laurel Stoimenoff, PT, CHC at

June 2022: Recognizing Sean McNeeley, MD, FCUCM

We would like to recognize a member who has gone above and beyond for years for both The College of Urgent Care Medicine (CUCM) and the Urgent Care Association. Sean McNeeley, MD, FCUCM was one of the founding members of CUCM, the founding editor of Urgent Caring, and a Past President of the Urgent Care Association. Recently, at the 2022 Urgent Care Convention, Dr. McNeeley was recognized for his service by receiving the 2021 Lifetime Membership Award, as well as the first ever namesake award: The Sean M. McNeeley, MD, FCUCM Award for Advancing the Specialty of Urgent Care Medicine. This award will be given annually to a deserving member of CUCM who embodies Dr. McNeeley’s passion for Urgent Care medicine, dedication to improving the quality of Urgent Care, education, and ongoing contributions to CUCM. Congratulations Dr. McNeeley!

March 2022: National Physicians Week

The inaugural awardee of the College of Urgent Care Cause for Applause is not an individual. We want to recognize ALL physicians.

In honor of National Physicians Week (March 25-31, 2022) we applaud all of the Urgent Care physicians who have worked so hard over the last two years.

You have been through multiple surges, staffing highs and lows, angry patients, acutely ill patients and, for many, even COVID-19 itself. You have risen to the challenge and survived. You served your colleagues, communities, and the industry admirably. For this, the College of Urgent Care Medicine applauds you as our inaugural recognition recipients in “Cause for Applause”!

Download the National Physicians Week Certificate to personalize and award to Urgent Care physicians.

View individual stories of our physician heroes:

Dr. Nichele Nivens, MD, FAAFP, FCUCM
Dr. Martin Jones head shot
Dr. Martin B. Jones, MD, Chief Medical Officer
Dr. Elizabeth McCarty, Medical Director
Dr. Bart Steen, MD
Dr. Bart Steen, MD
Dr. Lamont A. Tyler, DO, MSHQS-M, MSHLM, CPE, FAAFP
Dr. Lamont A. Tyler, DO, MSHQS-M, MSHLM, CPE, FAAFP
Dr. Roger Hicks, MD
Dr. Susan Fowler, MD
Dr. Amber Strother, MD